Am I planning and am I preparing?

Spencer W. Kimball: “Now is the time for you to plan good strong marriages and organize your programs and set your standards and solidify your determination to prepare for that married period of your lives which will be beautiful and rewarding.”

This is where I begin to ask myself “Am I planning and am I preparing?”Galatians 6:7: “Whatsoever a man soweth, that shall he also reap.” I love this quote because it is so true! If I am happy, I draw people who are happy around me. I also am constantly working on healing my heart, so many I know come around me who are also trying to heal their hearts.

I am trying to grow, so many who either have gone the pathway I am trying to go or else are going my way, are willing to share the growing with me. This is the biggest reason that I work so hard to grow: Ezra Taft Benson said “If you desire a fine companion, you should be that kind of fine person for whom that companion would be looking.”

When I went through my first divorce, I had found that my spirit had been hurt deeply, that with being wounded so much, that I wanted to feel safe. I began to look for someone who could “Save” me. But with the guidance of a friend who lovingly taught me to love myself first, I changed my perspective and began praying for guidance so that I could be the best person that I could be for my future husband. The next step was to realize that instead of trying to be something for someone else or to believe that I would find a man who could hold me in his arms to shield me from the world, that I wanted someone to be by my side-to be willing to stand by me to face the world together.

I was one day in a thrift shop and found a quote that I still keep with me. “No human relation gives one possession in another-every two souls are absolutely different. In friendship or in love, the two side by side raise hands together to find what one cannot reach alone.” from Kahlil Gibran.

D&C 88:40 states: “For intelligence cleaveth unto intelligence; wisdom receiveth wisdom; truth embraceth truth; virtue loveth virtue; light cleaveth unto light; mercy hath compassion on mercy and claimeth her own” If I am dishonest, if I am doing anything that is not correct in myself, then I am unable to expect better of my husband.

An assignment: Ask this of yourself: “What is the Law of Harvest?” and research it for yourself.

Leave a Reply

