“Christ-like love” Continued

We are continuing our thought concerning “Christ-like love”.

The Prophet Joseph Smith described it this way, “Nothing is so much calculated to lead people to forsake sin as to take them by the hand, and watch over them with tenderness. When persons manifest the least kindness and love to me, O what power it has over my mind, while the opposite course has a tendency to harrow up all the harsh feelings and depress the human mind.”

Is it not better to encourage the first than the latter? What can we do on a minute-by-minute basis to show this love to those around us. We do not need to do anything huge, a thought, a word, a helping hand are all forms of love. Should we not give of ourselves so that we can teach as well as nurture?

Being an example is the greatest example of this. I find that if I do something, people will be watching, therefore, if I do it the best that I can, then they will try to do the same. If I do something that is not good, than those who are watching will not trust me when I do good. With this thought in mind, I find that I am always trying to do my best in everything. This came from President David O. McKay: “Service is a great part of love-the placing of others’ needs before our own-service to one’s Church, family, friends and all with whom one associates in daily living. ‘If you love me, you will keep my commandments’-you will love your fellow men-and demonstrate that love by acts of kindness, consideration and thoughtfulness. Hate, envy and strife shall be crowded out as love for fellow men and for God fills every human heart.”

May we help each other to strive for the best in each other this week.

Leave a Reply

