Goals are important in any relationship

President Ezra Taft Benson said, “Clearly understood goals bring our lives into focus just as a magnifying glass focuses a beam of light into one burning point. Without goals our efforts may be scattered and unproductive.” When a couple has a common goal to reach, they have the opportunity to cheer each other on and encourage each other to reach the goal. Whether it is getting to the Temple, getting out of debt, finding a job, moving, even going to school.

So far, with the encouragement that I receive from someone who loves me, and the balance that is happening, I am reaching my goals. Personally, I feel that I do not want to bring any debt into a marriage. I do not want my companion to have to worry about something that I created by making an unwise choice for me. There is still some, but it is not as bad as it was. He encourages me but does not step in to rescue me. I do appreciate that as well. Together, we find that creating goals is making our lives easier and better.

When one of us feels that we are not reaching our goals, the other has the opportunity to remind and cheer us on. We also find that we do have the opportunity to take care of the “Now” items and do not feel guilty in doing so because there is enough.

To have a personal cheer section who has something invested in the goal makes the goal easier to attain.

Couples who work together in reaching their goals create stability in their marriage. They work out their differences. They choose to grow together and can be united in more than they ever thought of when they were alone.

May each of us reach our goals with someone who loves and cherishes us is my wish.

One comment on “Goals are important in any relationship

Leave a Reply

