Physical Appearance thought

Physical appearance is only one aspect of a person. When you get to know someone, they become beautiful because of the other aspects that have not normally been seen at first glance. I have many friends. I have them from all walks of life. They have their fears, their joys and their goals for their futures. I have the opportunity to celebrate their achievements, to mourn their losses and to cheer them on through their lives. Do I care what they look like? No. I do my best to see the beauty in all aspects of their lives. My goal is to see something that creates value in my friends and then encourage that within them.

When it comes to dating, though, I found that I dismissed many really good opportunities for an eternal companion because they were not my typical physical attraction. I began to look in the heart instead and found that no matter what they looked like, most of the guys that I spend time with, wish for something that is right before their eyes. This is why, if you noticed, recently I would introduce a female friend to one of my male friends in hopes of getting them to connect.

When I pray and ask for guidance to look beyond the physical appearance, I found that many treasures are given to me.

Henry B. Eyring said: “Every time in my life when I have chosen to delay following inspired counsel or decided that I was an exception, I came to know that I had put myself in harm’s way. Every time that I have listened to the counsel of prophets, felt it confirmed in prayer, and then followed it, I have found that I moved toward safety. Along the path, I have found that the way had been prepared for me and the rough places made smooth. God led me to safety along a path which was prepared with loving care, sometimes prepared long before.”

May we be willing to look beyond the physical appearance and open our hearts for the good things that are waiting for us.

2 comments on “Physical Appearance thought

Leave a Reply

