“Soul mates” are fiction and an illusion

President Spencer W Kimball stated: “Soul mates” are fiction and an illusion; and while every young man and young woman will seek with all diligence and prayerfulness to find a mate, with whom life can be most compatible and beautiful, yet it is certain that almost any good man and good woman can have happiness and a successful marriage if both are willing to pay the price.”

Elder Dallin H Oaks stated:”I have heard of cases where a young man told a young woman she should marry him because he had received a revelation that she was to be his eternal companion. If this is a true revelation, it will be confirmed directly to the woman if she seeks to know. In the meantime, she is under no obligation to heed it…The man can receive revelation to guide his own actions, but he cannot properly receive revelation to direct hers. She is outside his stewardship.”

Of the first thought, I can see with my parents. Yes, they love each other, but at the ages of 21 and 16, they were very young when they married and had many difficulties that they faced that were hard. They are still married and they cannot see life any other way.

Personally I have received variations of the second thought. It gives me comfort to know that I have the ability to go to Heavenly Father directly to find out for myself if the choices I make are correct.

My marriage with Antwoin is a wonderful gift to me. We work at always communicating about everything. So much so, that when we are not working, we are always together and cannot see our lives any other way. Yes, going out with the “guys” and “girls” is fine, but we are such a part of each other, that it is easy to blend together. We do have things that we do like individually, but we can even blend that. One example is that he likes to fish and I am not fond of it. He does not drive yet and all of the lakes and ponds are a driving distance away. I drive him and I bring a book or a movie and kick back and enjoy what I enjoy at the same time as he is fishing. I cheer him on when he catches fish and he talks when he feels the need. It is a wonderful symbiotic relationship!

Another is that sometimes food choices are different. I find that when we cook together, if one does not like something, we always make sure that they have an alternate choice. There are no arguments and there are no hurt feelings. With this in mind, our lives work out quite well. Ok, so we may not be true “Soul Mates”, but we sure feel like it!

Always see life with joy and love, it really makes a difference!

Leave a Reply

