A matter of perspective

Elder Boyd K. Packer said this to the youth: “Oh, youth, if you could know, the requirements of the Church are the highway to love, with guardrails securely in place, with guide signs plainly marked, with help along the way. How foolish is the youth who feels that the Church is a fence around love to keep him out. How unfortunate to resent counsel and restraints. How fortunate is the young person who follows the standards of the Church, even if just from sheer obedience or habit, for he will find a rapture and a joy fulfilled.”

Therefore, if you really think about it, everything is a matter of perspective. If you let your heart be joyful and glad while doing all that you feel is right, than things around you increase in their ability to help you continue to be joyful. But, if you worry constantly about things, feel that things always go wrong, life is hard, than that begins to happen to you. They will be wrong.

Personally, my goal is to constantly bring joy into my life and to those lives around me. This is why I am so glad that I have the Church to give me wonderful ideas as to how to improve myself.

I find that the revolutionary part of who I am sometimes concerns people, but I am a member of the church of Jesus Christ of latter day saints because I want to be. Not because someone told me to be.

I use the ideas taught to me to change my world. I listen for things that ring truly in my heart and I find that this church is the place for that to happen for me. Therefore, the revolutionary part of me is that I do not just accept what I am being told, I weigh it for truth in my heart and then I act upon it.

May we always try to do our best to see things from a wonderful perspective!

Leave a Reply

