Who should we trust?

Many times we have heard the words in many ways: Trust Me.

In this day and age, most of those who say these words are using them to hurt us. So, who can we trust? The car dealer? The bank? Our Lawyer? Our landlords? Our boss? Our family members? The insurance company? The government? Spiritual Leaders? Heavenly Father? Our Savior?

Who can we trust?

I had 2 very wise men who talked with me and they have both basically said the same thing. “Trust, but Verify.” One was my hometeacher, who is always watching out for me as best that he can, and the other was my Bishop who also watches out for me.

So, this means, do your homework. Test the sources before you let them take over a part of your life.

But does trust mean that you put the source under a magnifying glass? No, most of where you put your trust in, is where your heart is. Listen to it, it will always tell you true if you try to do the right things and bring the Light of Christ into your life. Also, the Holy Ghost is a great source to lean upon as to
who should be trusted.

In 2 Nephi 28:31, it states: Cursed is he that putteth his trust in man, or maketh flesh his arm, or shall hearken unto the precepts of men, save their precepts shall be given by the power of the Holy Ghost.

You will never be hurt by Heavenly Father, the Savior or the Holy Ghost. This has been proven time and time again. But if you feel that you need to test your feelings about them, it is recommended that you do so. Read your scriptures, Pray about them, Ask if these things that you are reading about are true! Then listen. Listen with all of your heart. Take time from the world to search this out.

Remember, the Gospel is active. Take action! Learn about something that you want to believe in and try it out! This creates joy in your heart and brings you closer to Heavenly Father.

I have done this myself. I challenge what I am being taught, with an open heart. Each time that I have done this, I pray first, then do what I am asked from Heavenly Father and see what happens. I am so
pleasantly surprised because what I am expecting is so much lower than what I receive!

I was asked if I had a glass of water, was it ½ empty, or ½ full. I told him that not only was it ½ full, but full to overflowing!

I trust in Heavenly Father! I trust in our Savior! I trust the Holy Ghost! They help me to know who else to trust in my life and I truly appreciate it.

In Mosiah 4:6-7, it states:

I say unto you, if ye have come to a knowledge of the goodness of God, and his matchless power, and his wisdom, and his patience, and his long-suffering towards the children of men; and also, the atonement which has been prepared from the foundation of the world, that thereby salvation might come to him that should put his trust in the Lord, and should be diligent in keeping his commandments, and continue in the faith even unto the end of his life, I mean the life of the mortal body—

I say, that this is the man who receiveth salvation, through the atonement which was prepared from the foundation of the world for all mankind, which ever were since the fall of Adam, or who are, or who ever shall be, even unto the end of the world.

Leave a Reply

